Welcome to Arizona Academic Decathlon


The Arizona Academic Decathlon is a ten-event scholastic competition for teams of high school students. Just like its ancient Greek counterpart, the Academic Decathlon® consists of ten events; success doesn’t come from being the best in a single event, it comes from mastering ten varied skills and disciplines.

Every Academic Decathlon competition, whether it’s a regional, state or national final follows the same format. Students compete in art, economics, essay, interview, language & literature, mathematics, music, science, social science, and speech. And teams compete in Super Quiz, the public quiz-show-style culmination of each competition. Each school enters a team of nine decathletes: three Honor (“A”) students, three Scholastic (“B”) students, and three Varsity (“C”) students.


Nearly 200 volunteers are needed to make each competition a success. Volunteers are trained on-site at the competition, but training materials are also provided in advance online. Each team coach expands our philosophy of encouraging, recognizing, and rewarding academic endeavor, fostering the all-important team concept in their school.

Sponsors also play a vital role in the ongoing success of the Arizona Academic Decathlon Association (AADA). We are funded entirely by corporate, foundation, and personal donations and are grateful for our sponsors’ support in continuing this program for Arizona students.

A Welcome from our National Administrator

Academic Decathlon® is about daring to push your limits, to master college-level material and to practice skills, like public speaking, that might be wholly new to you. It’s about the people you’ll meet along the way – the coaches who will mentor you, the competitors who will challenge you, and the teammates who will become your lifelong friends.”

– Dr. Les Martisko, United States Academic Decathlon Administrator


2017-2018 THEME

The United States Academic Decathlon’s curriculum is an interdisciplinary curriculum in which a selected theme is integrated across six different subject areas: art, economics, literature, music, science, and social science.  Students also study mathematics and participate in essay-writing, speech and interview events. The 2017-2018 Curriculum Theme is “Africa.”

september 2018

7sep8:30 am- 3:00 pm2018 Coaches ClinicSeptember 7, 2018Event Type :Coaches Clinics

Wells FargoIntelHelios Education Foundation

Salt River Project APSAZ School of Boards Association


2016 National Results

  The results from the USAD 2016 National Competition are in!!!  Canyon del Oro High School traveled to Anchorage Alaska to compete against other teams from across the nation.  They placed 5th in the large school division and 9th overall.  Arizona has placed in the top ten nationally for 36 years!  Medals were awarded to […]

Posted in: Nationals,
Canyon Del Oro 2016
2016 State Competition

The 2016 Award Ceremony was held for the 39 teams in the Red Mountain High School Auditorium to and audience of administrators, families, and friends.  The Hamilton High School Bollywood dance team Jhoom opened the ceremony with a wonderful performance of Indian dance.  149 individuals from 25 different schools received medals in the 10 events.  […]

Posted in: All Competitions, State,
2016 State Super Quiz
2016 State Super Quiz Competition

2016 State Super Quiz was held Saturday March 12, 2016 in the Red Mountain Gym.  The topic was India and 39 teams competed in front of an enthusiastic crowd.  The emcee was Rajesh Gadiyar, an engineer at Intel who added spark to the competition. The top teams out of 36 possible points were: Canyon del Oro, 33 […]

Posted in: All Competitions, State, Super Quiz,