The USAD National competition took place in Frisco, Texas on April 27-28.

Our state champion, BASIS Scottsdale, placed 2nd in their division (III) and 5th overall in the nation with a score of 42,258. Team members: Tristan Clarke, Janvi Srivastava, Meenal Srivastava, Evangeline Clarke, Anushka Sharma, Sophia Dumitrascu, Hillary Phan, Achyuth Parthasarathy, and Nimish Bhardwaj. Coach: Michelle Clarke.

Hamilton placed 1st in their division (IV) and 6th overall in the nation with a score of 42,152. Team members: Andy Ma, Olivia Lu, Chloe Zhan, Arun Chebrolu, Prisha Khemka, Jaden Lu, Thi Nguyen, Taryn Preis, and Angela Sun. Coach: Beth Trotti.

This year, each state was able to send an additional team in the ‘alternate’ division (IV) if they chose. Walden Grove represented Medium Schools and earned 30,266 points. Team members: Liliana Gutierrez, Savannah Kratzer, Kevin Arguelles, Nathan Sanchez, William Short, Diego Quezada, Henry Eaton, Nathaniel O’Dell, and Libbier Garcia. Coach: John Borja

Arizona was represented by three teams this year in the USAD Online Competition. BASIS Chandler represented Arizona in the Small School Division, Show Low was the representative in Medium Schools, and Mountain View (Mesa) in Large Schools.

  • BASIS Chandler placed 2nd in their division. Team members: Nathan Han, Kaden Moore-Kosslow, Miles Dieterle, Ashmit Kumar, Helena Brittain, Atharv Vallambhatla, Shrika Peddi, Rishit Maiti, and Zuhafa Taseen. Coaches: Curt Canaday and Beth Cox.
  • Show Low placed 7th in their division with team members Aubrie Wilson, Gilbert Soco, Graecyn Lewis, Zack Wullenweber, Jerimiah Wahl, Joe Lewis, Anaya Villalba, Adam Dale, and Travis Marean; coached by Tonya and Jerry Butler.
  • Mountain View (Mesa) placed 3rd in their division. Team members: Sawyer Morgan, Joshua Leung, Khiem Nguyen, Peter Winward, David Mora Anzai, Davin Decker, Brooklyn Clayton, Hyrum Stewart, and Lincoln Drysale. Coaches: Corey Helsel and Freeman Pruett.

The following students took home medals in their specific divisions:

  • Nimish Bharadwaj: Gold Social Science, Silver Economics, Silver Math, Bronze Essay
  • Helena Brittain: Gold Literature
  • Arun Chebrolu: Gold Math, Bronze Essay
  • Evangeline Clarke: Gold Essay, Silver Science, Bronze Art, Bronze Literature, Bronze Math, Bronze Music, Bronze Social Science
  • Tristan Clarke: Silver Overall Honors, Gold Economics, Silver Art, Silver Music, Silver Social Science, Silver Speech
  • Davin Decker: Silver Literature
  • Miles Dieterle: Bronze Literature
  • Sophia Dumitrascu: Silver Speech, Bronze Literature
  • Henry Eaton: Bronze Economics, Bronze Science
  • Nathan Han: Bronze Math
  • Prisha Khemka: Silver Overall Scholastic, Gold Literature, Gold Music, Silver Essay, Bronze Math
  • Ashmit Kumar: Bronze Overall Scholastic, Gold Art, Gold Math, Silver Science, Bronze Economics, Bronze Literature, Bronze Social Science
  • Jaden Lu: Silver Math
  • Andy Ma: Bronze Overall Honors, Gold Literature, Gold Science, Silver Math
  • Kaden Moore-Kosslow: Gold Overall Honors, Gold Economics, Gold Math, Gold Science, Bronze Art
  • Thi Nguyen: Bronze Art, Bronze Music, Bronze Social Science
  • Achyuth Parthasarathy: Bronze Essay, Bronze Science
  • Hilary Phan: Gold Essay, Bronze Interview, Bronze Math
  • William Short: Gold Art, Bronze Social Science
  • Janvi Srivastava: Gold Art, Silver Essay, Silver Social Science, Bronze Economics, Bronze Literature
  • Meenal Srivastava: Gold Music, Gold Social Science, Silver Art, Silver Economics, Bronze Math
  • Hyrum Stewart: Bronze Math
  • Angela Sun: Gold Essay, Bronze Math
  • Zuhafa Taseen: Silver Overall Varsity, Gold Math, Silver Economics, Silver Literature, Silver Science, Bronze Art, Bronze Music
  • Atharv Vallambhatla: Gold Overall Scholastic, Gold Economics, Silver Art, Silver Math, Bronze Music, Bronze Science
  • Aubrie Wilson: Silver Literature
  • Peter Winward: Silver Essay, Bronze Math
  • Chloe Zhan: Gold Music, Bronze Art, Bronze Literature, Bronze Science, Bronze Social Science

There were also eight students who attended Nationals as individuals and came away with medals. Congratulations to the following:

  • Asher Algoso (BASIS Chandler): Silver Literature
  • Evelyn Aspaas (Mountain Ridge): Silver Essay, Bronze Literature
  • Karthikeya Kodali (BASIS Chandler): Gold Math
  • Vineet Kota (BASIS Chandler): Silver Overall Scholastic, Gold Essay, Gold Math, Bronze Art, Bronze Economics, Bronze Literature, Bronze Music
  • Priya List (Mountain Ridge): Gold Economics, Gold Essay
  • Lohithaksh Santhosh (BASIS Scottsdale): Silver Science
  • Michael Torres (Mountain Ridge): Bronze Overall Scholastic, Gold Essay, Gold Music, Silver Math, Bronze Social Science
  • Evelyn Wittmer (Mountain Ridge): Bronze Essay